Uncategorized

I want to Finish Well

A missionary few weeks ago told me she wants to finish well. Few days earlier, I had received an email from a friend requesting me to pray for him to finish well in his walk with God. These two people have increased my desire to finish well too. Finishing well is no longer their wish only, but mine also. I want to finish well!finishingwell2

I am a great fun of athletics. As long as I can remember, I have never participated in any field event in my life. The nearest I ever got to the field is being part of the cheering squad. Nevertheless, I love watching athletes run, always eager to see how they finish. Interestingly, there are those who lead in the first few laps but do not finish well. Others wait until the last few laps and take their positions and end up winning.

The end of a matter is better than its beginning,” urges Ecclesiastes (7:8). No matter how good or bad was your starting, how you finish really matters. What is needed to finish well is faithfulness and commitment to God.

finish2Finishing our life well matters a lot. A friend while I was in campus was always reminding us that our walk with God is not a contract, but a life time commitment. God is looking for people who remain faithful to Him till the end. Only the one who will finish well will be called “A Good and Faithful Servant” and will be welcomed, “Come and share your master’s happiness.”

Paul knew this full well that finishing well was key! “I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and finish the task the Lord Jesus has given me- the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.” (Acts 20:24)

Elsewhere Paul urges the Corinthians to run in such a way that they get the prize. He compares Christian life to a race. Those who compete goes into strict training, and it is he who finishes well that gets crowned.

I want to finish well too. I want to share in God’s kingdom. I want to have everlasting life. Please pray for me!

By: Kenneth Irungu
iServe Africa Apprentice serving at DOVE Christian Fellowship, Kawangware.

msg_StartRaceFinishWell

 

 

7 thoughts on “I want to Finish Well

  1. Makes me recall the sweet hymn, I must have the savior with me”, and we certainly must follow the footsteps of him who marked the race for us. Heb12:1.
    God bless you and keep us moving

    Liked by 1 person

  2. nice one Ken. I too want to finish well, Lets focus on the eternal imperishable reward promised us at the end; that having served and shown others the way, we will not be left out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nice one Ken. I too want to finish well, Lets focus on the eternal imperishable reward promised us at the end; that having served and shown others the way, we will not be left out. as in 1 Cor 9 :24-27

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

