Prayer

10 Stirring Quotes on Prayer

We all need to cultivate our personal prayer life, as articulated by notable ministers from church history. Below are several quotes on prayers that I have come across and have rejuvenated me as I give myself to prayer:  

Charles Spurgeon: I know of no better thermometer to your spiritual temperature than this, the measure of the intensity of your prayer. 

John Owen: If we do not abide in prayer, we will abide in temptation. Let this be one aspect of our daily intercession: “God, preserve my soul, and keep my heart and all its ways so that I will not be entangled.” When this is true in our lives, a passing temptation will not overcome us. We will remain free while others lie in bondage. 

D. L. Moody: Those who have left the deepest impression on this sin-cursed earth have been men and women of prayer. 

J. C. Ryle: Bibles read without prayer; sermons heard without prayer; marriages contracted without prayer; journeys undertaken without prayer; residences chosen without prayer; friendships formed without prayer; the daily act of prayer itself hurried over, or gone through without heart: these are the kind of downward steps by which many a Christian descends to a condition of spiritual palsy, or reaches the point where God allows them to have a tremendous fall.

John R. W. Stott: To pray is not only to be truly godly; it is also to be truly human. For here are human beings, made by God like God and for God, spending time in fellowship with God. So prayer is an authentic activity in itself, irrespective of any benefits it may bring us. Yet it is also one of the most effective of all means of grace. I doubt if anybody has ever become at all Christ-like who has not been diligent in prayer. 

J. C. Ryle: Prayer and sinning will never live together in the same heart. Prayer will consume sin, or sin will choke prayer. 

Charles Spurgeon (in a letter to his young son): One of my sweetest joys is to hear that a spirit of prayer is in your school, and that you participate in it. To know that you love the Lord and are mighty in prayer would be my crowning joy; the hope that you do so already is a happy one to me. I should like you to preach; but it is best that you pray; many a preacher has proved a castaway, but never one who has truly learned to pray. 

Charles Spurgeon: Shall I give you yet another reason why you should pray? Hitherto all other means have been used without effect. God is my witness how often I have striven in this pulpit to be the means of the conversion of men. I have preached my very heart out. . . . My hearers, I have done my utmost. . . . Will not your prayers accomplish that which my preaching fails to do? . . . Have we not tried to preach without trying to pray? Is it not likely that the church has been putting forth its preaching hand but not its praying hand? O dear friends! Let us agonize in prayer. 

John Bunyan: The truths that I know best I have learned on my knees. . . . I never know a thing well, till it is burned into my heart by prayer. 

E. M. Bounds: What the Church needs today is not more machinery or better, not new organizations or more and novel methods, but men and women whom the Holy Ghost can use — people of prayer, people mighty in prayer. 

William Law: There is nothing that makes us love a man so much as praying for him; and when you can do this sincerely for any man, you have fitted your soul for the performance of everything that is kind and civil toward him. 

*** Few days ago, I requested you to pray for me, please keep praying for me, Here are the 10 Reasons why I need your prayers. Blessings as you give thyself to prayer!

 

Kenneth Irungu
iServe Africa Apprentice
Serving God at DOVE Christian Fellowship, Nairobi.
One thought on “10 Stirring Quotes on Prayer

Leave a Reply

